© 3 Penguins Photography : Joe RandeenCompliments are always nice – or are they?

My brother builds custom homes, some amazingly beautiful custom homes.  To my knowledge, no one has ever said to him, “That’s a beautiful home you built.  You must have some really nice tools”.

I have friends who are professional chefs.  Again, to my knowledge, I don’t think they have ever heard, “What an amazing meal.  You must have some really nice pans.”

Pretty sure that Picasso never heard, “Wonderful painting.  You must have some really nice brushes”.

Working as and teaching Graphic Design I have never heard, “That’s a fantastic piece. You must have some amazing software”.

Yet, as a photographer (and my fellow photographers can attest), I regularly hear, “What a great photograph.  YOU MUST HAVE A REALLY NICE CAMERA”.

Thank you for the compliment?  I think.

– Joe Randeen, 3 Penguins Photography

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

One response »

  1. Karl Johnson says:

    Yeah, just about every compliment I’ve received was followed by a question about the equipment I use. DigitalRev has a series that they do called PPCC (Pro Photographer, Cheap Camera) where they get a professional and accomplished photographer to shoot for a day using cameras designed for children. Here is a sample https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGexTWdyrrI
    Always fascinating to see what they can come up with.

Leave a Reply

