When should you give your Social Security number and when should you not?

My rule on giving out my Social Security number is that I don’t do it, unless I know it’s absolutely, positively required for what I’m doing.

Companies and institutions ask for our Social Security numbers like they’re handing out a piece of candy. Unfortunately, they do a mediocre to terrible job of securing the number, depending on the industry.

Kiplinger magazine once ran a list of the 10 worst places to give out your Social Security number.

Here are the places you shouldn’t give out your Social Security number

Topping the list is any college or university. I recall when Social Security numbers were used as your student ID number and they were posted everywhere on campus. I even had a professor who posted grades outside his office by Social Security number. [read]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

