Yesterday my 8 year old and I were going to pick up some groceries.  We parked the car and were about to walk across the parking lot to enter the store.  As I teach all my children, look both ways.  We stopped, looked and noticed a car on our left slow down.  I took ONE STEP forward and quickly noticed that the slowing car was now speeding up.  As the car drove by I saw a young lady, in her late teens, TEXTING while nearly hitting me and another pedestrian.

When I have the opportunity to be a passenger in a car I OFTEN see other drivers texting, holding their phones while driving, even reading while driving.  How may times I’ve thought, “I should take a picture and post it.” Well, somebody is finally doing that.  TwitSpotting.com

Meet the Bay Area man on a mission to embarrass drivers who text.

As part of his high-tech campaign to get drivers off their phones, a Silicon Valley graphic designer named Brian Singer has been snapping photos of people he sees texting behind the wheel.

“I was blown away by the number of people texting while driving,” Singer said.

Singer snaps the pictures and puts them online. He’s even put them on a few Bay Area billboards.

Experts say texting – or even checking texts – while driving is the equivalent of closing your eyes for a stretch of five seconds.

Singer said he noticed a lot of texting while he commuted to work, so he started the website TWITspotting.com. TWIT stands for “Texting While in Traffic.”

He said he does it because he wants everybody to stop texting. [read]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

