ParentWhen I hear the news stories of unprovoked violence it astounds me. What possesses a human being to assault another human? I get anger but why is there less and less control over anger today? More people, it seems, are acting out on their anger.

So, why am I harping on this? Here’s my little story from this morning.

On the back-side of my kids’ school, there is a gate so the kids who walk to school don’t have to walk all the way around the to enter. This gate is on a very busy street. Posted regularly along this street are NO STOPPING signs. Well, parents stop, risking lives in doing so.

This morning, I’m driving down this street and I see two cars sitting right under the NO STOPPING signs, dropping off their kids. Slowing down because I DO NOT trust these parents, I approach the two cars and one of them pulls out right in front of me, forcing me to slam on the breaks. Due to the shock and fear that immediately hits me I lay on the horn. Here’s where the fun starts.

Remember, this car, not only is breaking the law but also pulls out into traffic from a dead stop. My laying on the horn results in the black BMW slowing down to near zero MPH and the middle finger of love arising. So, I honk again. This results in the guy changing lanes and speeding up to a traffic light and stops. In my ignorance, I thought it was over.

I get to the stop light where I see his passenger window roll down. I roll my window down and . . . . 

“What the f*** is your f***ing problem dumb-a**. F***ing four-eyes, white trash dumb-f***, don’t you know what your f***ing doing?” My response was, “I know not to park where it’s posted NO STOPPING.” Apparently, that’s not what he wanted to hear. He fired up is expletive filled tirade, while I proceeded to roll up my window and drive away.

Now, I had all 3 kids in the car and they saw and heard this ‘parent’ fly off the handle, using his colorful language in front of them. My youngest responded, “Dad, what was he saying, I couldn’t understand a word?” Good thing.

A few minutes later it hits me. What would have prevented this guy from getting out of his car and physically going after me? In this day and age, you just don’t know. My honking could have resulted in a visit to the hospital.

The lesson here – when someone stupid does something stupid don’t point out their stupidity because you’ll only get a stupid response and you may be risking life and limb in doing so.

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

