Hobbies and pastimes that lift the spirits

Mel Brooks used to say that filling a blank page with words is hard work. Clearly, Brooks had not encountered a primed canvas propped on an easel. Neither had I until I was about 40.

At my High School, art class was considered the preserve of the dunderheads. I definitely could not draw and my experience of painting was limited to shelves, walls and trim (with the Jackson Pollack effect reserved for floorboards). It wasn’t until about a dozen years ago, after happening upon an article Winston Churchill had written in the 1920s, Painting as a Pastime, that I made my first trip to the art store. Churchill describes how, without any prior training or any demonstrable proclivity, he took up painting at the age of 41. This hobby became an all-consuming passion that (with the exception of World War II during which he only painted one picture) accompanied him into his dotage. Churchill’s article, later transformed into a book, must have stirred some of my latent, midlife longings. [read LinkedIn]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

