I now spend more time in my email inbox than I do on the phone, on social media (yup!), or in meetings.

Volume is a huge problem. I receive a few hundred emails a day, but I don’t think it’s just me—we’re all getting busy on email. According to a recent study, the average business user wades through 114 emails daily. Our inboxes have become an open door for anything and everything, some of which is pure spam and most of which is neither time-sensitive nor relevant in the here and now.

All of this is can be seriously detrimental to productive people. Did you know that the average employee checks their email 36 times an hour? But the worst part is, each time we’re distracted dealing with emails, it takes 16 whole minutes on average to refocus on the task at hand. Start doing the math and it’s a wonder we get anything else done.

I know how easy it can be to end up on the hamster wheel of responding to emails. So here are five techniques I use to manage my constantly overflowing email inbox: [read via LinkedIn]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

