In this tutorial Andrea Cosentino shares his technique for getting a very distinct soft light look using a wall and one strobe. This is Andrea’s submission for our How I Took It Contest, there are some awesome submissions so far, we’ll keep sharing them, you keep ’em coming.

Gorgeous Soft Light With One Speedlite

I love placing my subjects in front of white backgrounds and focus on them to make photographs worth looking at.

I knew I wanted a classic, ‘a la’ Zack Arias look but with a hint of a nostalgic feeling that people like Ryan Muirhead are able to get in their pictures. And I wanted to keep it as simple as possible.

Prior to that session I’d had a few experiences where I would light my subject with way too many lights. That is, 3 lights… Yes, if you’re in your 2nd year of a self taught photography apprenticeship as I am they will probably be too many for you to manage. By doing this you focus on getting them lights right more than you focus on interacting with your subject.

Bad. Thing. To. Do.

Luckily enough I learn from my mistakes. [read]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

