On “Blunderbuss,” his solo debut, the analog purist makes spur-of-the-moment choices and proves that you don’t have to buy into the loudness wars to make a Number One record.

Making a gut decision has never been hard for Jack White. “If somebody asked me, ‘We’re going to record a guitar part in a hotel room: What do you want in the room?’ I’d say, ‘I want a 15-watt amp with a reverb, that Supro guitar, a ribbon microphone, and a reel-to-reel,’” he reveals. “Somebody else would say, ‘Why don’t you bring down ten of my Les Pauls, three Stratocasters, a Tele, four of the Silvertones, the Marshall, a Twin Reverb, six other amps, and we’ll record 45 guitar tracks. And then I’m going to go on vacation and you engineers pick the best one.’”

While many famous guitar players like to surround themselves with nearly endless options, that’s not a process that appeals to White. He’s most comfortable making resolute selections made in the blink of an eye. “I make my decisions early on and eliminate right from the get-go so I don’t have to make those choices down the road, because that just makes it harder on you,” he says. [read]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

