I was scrolling through my Twitter news feed when I saw that Zack Arias (@zarias) was asked a question, and that question was simply, “Shall I upgrade from f/1.8 to f/1.4?”

It caught my eye as I was somewhat going through a similar dilemma. I wanted to get a Nikon 85mm f/1.4G, but can’t afford it, so was contemplating the Nikon 85mm f/1.8G instead.

So I decided to read the answer to this question, and Zack Arias responded with an answer which I interpreted as, “only if you feel limited by f/1.8” but then does link you to another article which discusses this specific lens upgrade in more depth.

I found this Blog Post very inspiring. I, myself suffer from severe GAS (gear acquisition syndrome), and am always wanting new toys. But nonetheless, I do need to remind myself that Photography is an Art form, and the gear is just the technical side of things. Better gear makes my job easier and I do feel I need to remind myself at times that getting the shot is more important than what I got the shot with.

With this year being a big year for new gear, I hope this Blog will bring a balance to the hype of new toys. [via SLR Lounge]

About joetheflow

I'm a multimedia designer, video editor, photographer and musician who likes just about everything so here's a place to share. I'm left-right brained which is both a blessing and a curse but never boring. Check out: 3 Penguins Design - http://www.3PenguinsDesign.com ::: 3 Penguins Photography - http://www.3PenguinsPhotography.com :::

Leave a Reply

